If the email says you need to update your login information or provide security information and has a link to do it, it’s not from them, especially if the return address is not their domain. I just got one from supposedly Verizon Wireless but address it was from was like vetch.com. It’s also not from them if your name appears nowhere, or your email provider is nice enough to tell you it was sent as a BCC.
These emails are phishing for your security information such as passwords, account numbers and social security information. They will then get your money or misuse your information.
I suspect if an email was sent out saying it was from Social Security and they needed to confirm Social Security numbers, a number of people would respond giving name and social security number as if Social Security did not know them.
Be safe and just trash these messages.
Send your questions to Dwight Watt at dwight@dwightwatt.com. He teaches at a technical college in northwest Georgia and does consulting work for businesses and individuals. His website is www.dwightwatt.com.





